The Hidden Windows 10 Seeding Setting

The Hidden Windows 10 Seeding Setting

Tech Tip Tuesday

August 18th, 2015

You may or may not have already taken advantage of Microsoft’s Windows 10 free upgrade. If you have, you may not realize there is a default setting which allows your computer to send other people the updates. Now, this may not be a big deal to those with extremely fast internet speeds, people with fantastic internet security, or those with no bandwidth cap. If you don’t fit into all of those categories, then you may want to look into turning it off. Below we will go through the step by step process of how to get to the option, and what way to set it.

If you haven’t taken advantage of the Windows 10 free upgrade, everyone here at Compass Web strongly recommend making the switch. The free upgrade should show up as a small windows icon in the bottom right of your screen if you are running Windows 7 – 8.1.

Now lets get to how to change the setting on Windows 10 update sharing.

Step 1
First You will need to go to your setting section. This particular setting is relatively easy to find. If you are coming from Windows 7, it will be located where the start menu is, if you are coming from Windows 8 it will be where the button to go back to the tile screen is.
Step 2
Within the settings area, you will select the Update & Security icon. This menu will look different compared to Windows 7. Users of Windows 8.1 may notice the similarities.
Step 3
Now, as you see, is where things are starting to become hidden. It is here you must select Advanced options. You may have to scroll down if your computer has updates ready to be installed. A neat feature of Windows 10 is that it will wait until a time that you rarely use the computer to restart and install updates.
Step 4
Within the Advanced options screen is a Choose how updates are delivered link. As you can see, we have had to go through yet another menu to find this option. For most users, going this far into the settings would never happen. In this way, Microsoft has hidden this setting in a way that will prevent most users from turning it off.
Step 5
Now is where you get to actually check the settings. The toggle for on or off and two options. Because we have multiple computers, we allow them to share over the local network, allowing for us to not have to download the update from the internet multiple times, instead just sharing it between the computers. If you do not have multiple computers, then you can just set the toggle to off.
Hopefully this article has aided you in preventing the unwanted use of your personal bandwidth. If you have and questions, comments, or things you would like to see as a Tech Tip, shoot us an e-mail, call us at 618.665.3007 or find us on Facebook!

Comments

comments